🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I need help for designing a Spaceship (3D Model)

Started by
7 comments, last by DavinCreed 3 years, 11 months ago

Hi,

I'm working on a shi-fi videogame, but I'm not very good with 3D models.

I can do most of the models I need (props, simple weapons, forniture, etc.) but I'm having troubles designing (and making) one of the most important models: The spaceship around which the whole plot revolves…

This is a draft of a very basic design
This is the best model I could come up with, I replaced solar panels with laser generators but I will place panels somewhere else

Unfortunately I have zero budget to hire a professional, do someone of you have some free time to give me some tips or to fix my models? Thank you very much!

None

Advertisement

Which kind of help are you looking for? Adding more detail? Making it look more (or less) realistic? Is it low poly? Adding colors? How this asset will be used? Will the player see the ship from the outside (space walk for maintenance, for example), or it's just a prop for some cutscenes, and will not be looked closely? The game has space combat? Does the game take place inside the ship?

In summary, give us more info about your game and what is your goal for this ship, so we can understand better what needs to change and how to help.

For some help with how to help us help you, show us the art style you're going for.

If you don't have any concept art images for that, then go grab a few images of a game or games that have the art style you're trying to implement.