🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

My Situation and Teesside University!

Started by
11 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years ago
Hello!
I am hoping this is the right place to write what I am about to write.

So. I want to make games for a living. Though, I don't feel I worked hard enough for it so far. But I am 21 years old and I want to make it happen.

I'll be completing my undergraduate studies this year in Computer Science and Engineering. I know the best way to get into making games is to get a job where I'll be remotely related to making games. Also that, my subject is relevant enough for me start applying for jobs in the gaming industry.

But there are two problems:
1) I come from a more or less non-game country - India. (Yes, I have read all the FAQs)
2) My skills are not good enough. I have a clear idea about Object Oriented Programming. I know my C and my CPP. But no substantial game development experience as such.

So after a lot of thought. I thought perhaps I should look for a gaming job in a game country. But the chances of that working out are.. well pretty much impossible. So, I decided maybe I should go for further education in a country which does have a gaming scenario and further studies will also give me the time to catch up with what I missed during my undergrads.

Calculating many constraints (financial and relevance to games), I considered MSc Computer Games Programming in Teesside University (UK). I even got a conditional offer from them. This is the link to the course: http://bit.ly/9DNEB8

So, the questions:
1) Will this course help me enough to achieve what I want to? (Considering I do put in the effort required)