🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

UCLA or UCSD?

Started by
10 comments, last by LessBread 14 years, 1 month ago
Hey people! I've recently been accepted into both UCLA and UCSD and I'm torn. I'm currently majoring in Computer Science and seek to become a Video Game Programmer or something along those lines. I believe UCLA's reputation is better than that of UCSD but UCSD's area fit my personal taste better (less city/fast paced and more relaxing and better weather etc). I would highly appreciate any type of input. The pendulum has been swinging back and forth constantly and I really have no idea what to do.
Advertisement
Which one has the better program? 99% of the time the actual place you got the degree from isn't going to matter (unless its an online school).
Quote: Original post by barom
Hey people! I've recently been accepted into both UCLA and UCSD and I'm torn. I'm currently majoring in Computer Science and seek to become a Video Game Programmer or something along those lines. I believe UCLA's reputation is better than that of UCSD but UCSD's area fit my personal taste better (less city/fast paced and more relaxing and better weather etc).

Go to UCSD. Go to the place where you'll be happier, because you'll do better there. UCLA's reputation isn't that much better than UCSD when it comes to computer science (and UC Berkeley beats them both, anyway), plus undergraduate alma mater isn't that big of a deal 9 times out of 10.