🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

FPS RPG Immersive sim project.

Started by
4 comments, last by Frenchyboy 4 days, 15 hours ago

Hey there! I'm newer to the game development scene but I have been working on games for about 7 years now. I suck horribly at it. But, I have an idea and I've had this idea for quite a while now and I know exactly what I want, but I need help because it is a very big game idea. I don't want to pitch the game to some AAA company because they are going to turn it into a money making machine instead of what it's meant to be. I also don't want my idea to be stolen, however I will share a little bit of details to get you interested (perhaps?)

The game - or really the story - is meant to be able to be controlled completely by the player. It is very player-centered in that it's a VIDEOGAME and not just a playable movie. So, when the player makes a choice, something actually happens differently for each choice the player makes in the game. I'll give two instances, the first being a small and simple instance and the second being a large and complex one that has more to do with the story.

The first example: The player encounters a door. The player may blow up the door, but that will alert a bunch of guards that are nearby. The player can pick the lock and sneak in, but the player needs lockpicks. (Same with keys). The player can completely avoid the door and go into a vent found on the roof, but there are deadly creatures in the vents that will not hesitate to kill you, and if you make too much noise the guards will find you and you'll have to fight them.