🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Which game engine suits me best?

Started by
3 comments, last by Thaumaturge 1 year, 11 months ago

Hello. I have used gamemaker studio many years ago, when I was 15, to create a pletform puzzle game, then I created some Tomb Raider 4 and Age of Empires II mods with the level editors and some extra mesh editor, then I created a small point and click adventure. I know the basics of programming and I know well what a 3D CAD is, but I’m not experienced. I always wanted to add games creation in my life and now I decided to do it, but not as my primary interest, but as an extra hobby. I think I want to be create mostly puzzle platform games with unusual elements. Mayby some day I’ll want to create a point&click adventure -platform-RPG game, another time a game with magic which transforms the player or the enemies completely to something different, with weird moves each time (or transforms the kind of game), depending on some choices. So I want an engine that gives me the freedom to do whatever I want, that’s why unreal engine is in my list. On the other hand I don’t know if it’s a good choice since I want to be able to implement my ideas fast (like said, game design won’t be my main occupation). I want to spend time learning it, but not so much time that I’ll be able to implement my ideas well after years (incouding 3D Cad & programming learning, that could happen). I just watched this (Unreal Engine 4 - Making a 2D Platformer in UE4 - Full Length - YouTube) tutorial and I found it complex enough, especially after the middle and especially the programming part. Maybe at the beggining I’d prefer to use some things allready made by others and the challange to be how to edit them to get what I want rather than create everything from the beggining, and I as I progress I wa