🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

[glEnable(GL_COLOR_MATERIAL]

Started by
17 comments, last by JoeJ 2 years, 2 months ago

Hello,

So I'm new to OpenGL and programming using shaders.

I tried to render a textured object and I wanted to add a coordinate system with colored axes.

At first the coordinate system'axes had the same color as the object so I had to use texture→release() to unbind the texture before drawing the coordinate system, so the axes became all black.

In the function that draws the coordinate system i used glColor3f to specify each axis' color.

I read that I should enable GL _ COLOR _ MATERIAL and LIGHTING before calling that function and I tried it but it didn't work.

Any idea on how to fix this problem please ?

Advertisement

What version of openGL are you using?

NBA2K, Madden, Maneater, Killing Floor, Sims http://www.pawlowskipinball.com/pinballeternal

ogldev1 said:
At first the coordinate system'axes had the same color as the object so I had to use texture→release() to unbind the texture before drawing the coordinate system, so the axes became all black.

You also need to disable shader programs, in case you forgot.
And i think you want to disable lighting instead enabling it.

@dpadam450 I think its 3.1 .

@JoeJ Well, After using texture → release() I added program.release() to disable the shader then I disabled the lighting with glDisable(GL_LIGHTING) then I drew the coordinate system. Now the object is no longer visible and only two axes of the frame visible on the screen.

ogldev1 said:
Now the object is no longer visible and only two axes of the frame visible on the screen.