🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Is HTML a good language to develop an RTS game?

Started by
6 comments, last by 8Observer8 1 year, 11 months ago

So I came up with an RTS computer game and got some of my college friends to make it with me.

My friends suggest that we go with HTML and JavaScript to develop this game. I'm not very good at coding so I just went with what they said but I'm still skeptical about it. My friend says that you can just use some kind of package? or program? (I'm not really sure) and then you can just use the HTML as the interface.

I know many games, especially mobile games are being developed with HTML but I don't know with an RTS game.

Let me know what you think.

p.s We were originally going to do it with Unity

Advertisement

JavaScript is a full, capable language. People who know it well certainly could develop an RTS on a web page.

I would not call it a good choice. For someone who already knows the language and is comfortable with the tools, or who is focusing on developing for the web, it's what you would need to use mostly out of necessity to get the job done.

Unity would be far easier, especially if you're comfortable using toolkits. There are a bunch of frameworks/toolkits/etc on the asset store of varying quality.

Either way you go, you're looking at a tremendous amount of work. You'll learn a lot along the way.

Related: https://littlewargame.com/​​ which uses nodejs & javascript

Cons of Unity Web Player: Riddled with bugs, and slower than JavaScript (source: a search of stackoverflow.com). I don't know of any real RTS games (or real games period) that use it besides little experiments and proof-of-concept projects, but if you know of one, I'd like to be proven wrong.