🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Fix Inconsistent Jump Heights

Started by
6 comments, last by Thaumaturge 2 years, 5 months ago

Hi, I am new to game development and I followed a tutorial on a 2d platformer character controller script. Everything is working perfectly, except for the jump height. Jumping while standing still is much lower than jumping while running. I assume somewhere in my code the vector force is being influenced by the horizontal input, but I don't know where. If anyone could help me, I'd greatly appreciate it!

No horizontal input
With horizontal input

Here is my code:

using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;

public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
{
    [Header("Components")]
    private Rigidbody2D rb;

[Header("Layer Masks")]
    [SerializeField] private LayerMask groundLayer;

[Header("Movement Variables")]
    [SerializeField] private float movementAcceleration;
    [SerializeField] private float maxMoveSpeed;
    [SerializeField] private float groundLinearDrag;
    private float horizontalDirection;
    private bool changingDirection => (rb.velocity.x > 0f && horizontalDirection < 0f) || (rb.velocity.x < 0f && horizontalDirection > 0f);

[Header("Jump Variables")]
    [SerializeField] private float jumpForce = 12f;
    [SerializeField] private float airLinearDrag = 2.5f;
    [SerializeField] private float fallMultiplier = 8f;
    [SerializeField] private float lowJumpFallMultiplier = 5f;
    private bool canJump => Input.GetButtonDown("Jump") && onGround;

[Header("Ground Collision Variables")]
    [SerializeField] private float groundRaycastLength = 0.9f;
    private bool onGround;

private void Start()
    {
        rb = GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>();
    }

private void Update()
    {