🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I wanna start making making games, what should I do?

Started by
4 comments, last by Programmer71 2 years, 9 months ago

Hello! I'm new here, hope all of you are having a great day.

I'm a 17 years old teenager, I live in a 3rd world country and I've always loved videogames (not just playing them). Some of my other hobbies are: drawing, video making (with focus on narrative and visual effects) and watching anime xD. I have no experience with coding or game development, and I don't have any friends interested in the subject. My idea is to be a coder mainly. I also dream of leaving my country and living outside.

I have a few questions for you guys, and if some of you could share your experiences also, that'd great!

1 - I will have to go to college and choose a degree. In my country there are universities that offer specialized courses for game development specifically. You guys think it's a good idea or should I do something more general like Computer Science, Computer Engineering, etc…?

1.5 - If I do choose a game development specialized course, should I do a bachelor degree or a technologist degree?

2- Did you make a game dev related course, or did you learn it by yourself?

3- What are the positives of making games (being it indie or working for a big company) and the hardships I may find in the way?

4- How did you enter into the job market? How does it work? How is the consistency of the game dev market compared to something like software engineering, web development, and other stuff in the area?

5- With the game dev knowledge you have (programming, designing…), in which other areas can you work at if you decide the payment isn't enough or you just want to quit?