🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What are important elements to understand for level design?

Started by
4 comments, last by josephpeterschar@gmail.com 2 years ago

Hello everyone,

I'm a student nearing graduation for a degree in Game Programming and Development. I have narrowed my focus to level design and I am needing advice from others in the industry for an assignment. I have received really helpful resources from my professor and I have done research on different sites (Gamasutra, World of Level Design, and a few others) for information on affordances, leading lines, etc. I was wondering if there are any important design elements that would help me to develop a better understanding of level design?

Thank you in advance!

None

Advertisement

Hi C_Williams, I'm just a hobbyist programmer, but did pick up an interesting tip recently. The presenter was talking about the game design of the FPS Hitman. Specifically, the presenter was talking about a level where you had to assasinate a mobster who was in his estate. There was an armed guard outside. The video asked, "What is the purpose of the guard?' Obviously, I thought the guard was there to protect the mobster, duh! The video went on to explain the designer's motives where more abstract; the guard wasn't there to protect the mobster, but to give the player choices. Does the player try to take the guard out with a sniper rifle? Or maybe the player creates a distraction and enters the house while the guard is investigating. Or maybe the player desides to avoid the guard altogether and sneak in through a window.. I never though about levels like that, and found it interesting. I made a few simple design choices in a game I'm currently making based on the idea of providing choices. Congrats on completing your degree!