🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Which GameEngine should I use for voxel-RTS-game?

Started by
5 comments, last by Shaarigan 3 years, 1 month ago

Hey there,

I'm completely new to game-development and I want to create a command-and-conquer like RTS (mainly for learning reasons, but maybe if it turns out to be good also to share with the community). My preferred language is C#. I'm looking for sth. which gives me a lot of physics etc. from the beginning so I don't have to code everything from scratch.

I really like voxel engines (like cnc ra2) and am wondering if it is possible to implement some new technologies like seen in “teardown” which make buildings etc, destructible. I also looked at tools like voxelfarm, but am not sure if it is the right thing for what I have in mind (in terms of voxel aesthetics and scale) ?

So which game-engine should I use and which game engines are even capable of producing these voxel aesthetics? I also wonder if I have an RTS scale (=many house objects from above) will I get performance issues with voxel style etc?

So as you can see I'm quite new and helpful for any tips and ideas!

Thanks in advance <3

Advertisement

cphr said:
My preferred language is C#

Then you have barely other options than using anything ready to handle C# or learn a new programming language. There is Unity3D and Godot that I'm aware of have C# bindings at least

cphr said:
I'm looking for sth. which gives me a lot of physics

What do you need physics for in an RTS game?

cphr said:
which game engines are even capable of producing these voxel aesthetics?