🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What are you attracted from?

Started by
4 comments, last by JoeJ 3 years, 4 months ago

Hello everyone,

I am new here and, more in general, in the video game world.

I am not a developer, neither an artist, so I have no technical skills but I have some game ideas and I would like to realize one or more of them.

Excluding the option to gain all the needed skills and go only by myself (I think it would really take too much time and resources), and to hire someone for budget reasons, how can I find and involve developers and artists to form a team? What would you be attracted from to evaluate the possibility to be a part of a team?

Thank you,

Federico

Advertisement

As ideas is all you have to offer, the skilled people you try to attract bring already more to the table. And beside skill they also have their own ideas, so why should they spend their free time to work on your ideas instead theirs?

I think you can try to convince them by showing your ideas are better. You could work out a design document about your game, present it here and ask for people interested to contribute. This happens quite often here on the forum and can work.

@JoeJ Thank you very much, JoeJ.

I think you're definetly right when you say they bring already more to the table and that's why I asked that.

Ok, so, if I am not wrong, what you suggest is to prepare that document called GDD (Game Design Document) and share it, isn't it?

Start with a shorter version of the design. A game design treatment is maybe ~20 pages and gives a good idea of the game without having to go into minute detail.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

bellofresco said:
Ok, so, if I am not wrong, what you suggest is to prepare that document called GDD (Game Design Document) and share it, isn't it?