🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

(might) Need help at new project

Started by
7 comments, last by ddlox 3 years, 7 months ago

Hello, everybody. I'm a beginner C++ programmer and i've been idealizing on a new project: a “triple A” game engine that can be supported on low-end PC's. I don't know, it might be stupid at first but once i REALLY master proggramming, here's what i wanna do:

• Maps based on Binary Space Partitioning, along with procedurally generated content.
  • Textures with bumpmaps that make them look 3D when lighted by a lighting source.
  • Shaders and pixel-based rasterizing techniques that subdivide low poly characters into high poly without taking too much memory.
  • Overall viewmodels that are actually high quality 2D sprites (with bumpmaps) that get compressed depending on which system the game is running on.
  • MIDI files for soundtrack.
Advertisement

Master, your post has been moved to Hobby Projects Classifieds. Team member recruiting is not permitted in the discussion forums. Good luck with your project, if/when you start it!

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

And there is Unreal Engine 4 for free, which does all what you mentioned and muuuuuch more, including documentation, learning aides, videos, content free and paid, community, …..

@Vollkrasser I agree that the Unreal Engine is a good tool to make incredible games, but the app itself needs many gigabytes of space on a drive to be installed. What i wanna do is an FPS tool that can run smoothly on ANY device and can create something realistic and playable with only a few dozens of megabytes, pretty much like the game Kkrieger.