🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Hi, I'm new. I'd like some advice

Started by
6 comments, last by CyberWulf56 3 years, 11 months ago

Hi, I'm Dave. I'm new, like the student who shows up in art class and has never picked up a pencil to so much as doodle new. I am strange. I have a lot of ideas that I can visualize and no way of actually creating them which is why I am here. I am not here to be the next Fortnite, nor do I plan on making money from this platform. I am trying to discover something new about myself. Also I have this crazy idea of designing games as a working concept for Engineering principles at play to teach myself and others how engineers brains work. I am not an engineer its just a concept. I'd like to use the video game medium as a learning experience and a way to make ideas come to life. Now considering nothing in this world is new, I was curious if this type of thing had ever been done before? Maybe a point of reference, since I have none. Anyway, thank you for your time.

Advertisement

Hi, Dave. You posted your beginner question in an advanced forum, so I've moved it to the beginners forum. You didn't say what you want to teach yourself. Making games is not just programming, it's also art and sound and writing and design, and more. Assuming you want to learn how to make games by yourself, you should start with tutorials for easy tools. A thing most people start with is GameMaker from Yoyo Games. https://www.yoyogames.com/get​ - there are tutorials, and that's where I recommend you start.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com