🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Tools for designing data

Started by
14 comments, last by Shaarigan 4 years, 1 month ago

This isn't a game design problem, rather a game design tool problem.

Imagine a strategy game where you need to store lots of stats such as:

name 	| hp 	| attack | defense
warrior	| 100 	| 50 	 | 50
archer 	| 50 	| 75 	 | 25

This data needs to be designed by someone. Which tools do you use?

I found two popular solutions to this: either spreadsheets (CSV and family) or SQL. Is there any other solutions? Would it make sense to use other kinds of databases like Firebase to store such data?

I'm a fan of the KISS principle so I started with spreadsheets.

As I was looking around for solutions, I found more stuff about SQL than anything else. So I started playing with SQLite to get a feel for it, only it wasn't quite as easy as a spreadsheet editor to manipulate the data. I found lots of commercial strategy game use SQL databases for such purpose. Is there tools for editing sql data that are as flexible as excel and such?

spreadsheets
Advertisement

CSV/Excel I don't think has enough capability once start getting complex data, and dozens of columns becomes hard to keep track of.

Database seem massive overkill, you probably won't have tens of thousands of unit types that need to be loaded dynamically, you can generally afford to load all the definitions into memory.

I have been using YAML for a lot of game and non-game things I wanted to edit manually, and are not worth the investment of a custom editor GUI. Generally I found it easy enough to explain to people how to edit correctly (with some decent error messages at load time). INI, JSON, XML, etc. are other options I have seen.

- id: warrior
  trained_at: barracks
  training_time: 30
  cost:
    food: 50
  hp: 50