🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Best approach for building multiplayer online card games like UNO

Started by
3 comments, last by hplus0603 4 years, 2 months ago

Hi all, I am NOT a game developer but a web developer as of now. I have an idea of a multiplayer online card game like UNO and I would like to understand what would be the best architecture for developing such a game.

Is unity the best platform for such a game ?

Can anyone let me know how Mattel has developed UNO game ? Are they using native java and swift to create such a game?

I am thinking of hiring game developers to have an MVP ready for it. Please guide me how should i approach in building such a game.

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

For Uno, you can totally build it in a web browser. Doing so would even be a good thing, because your target market would be much bigger than a native app.

You could use messaging over websockets. Keep a server up that has some kind of process or object for each game currently running. Receive commands from the players, send known state to the other players. It's important to not send all player's hands to all players; send only the size of each player's hand to all players, and the specific hidden cards to the players that can see that state. Else some player will open the web console, or a packet sniffer, and see the data.