🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Problems with creating a messaging 'hook'

Started by
1 comment, last by Shaarigan 4 years, 5 months ago

Hi Guys,

I am trying to catch a 'dragged file' windows message via a DLL I am creating (for a third party engine).

I have the DLL currently talking with the engine correctly and it now ‘accepts files’ that are dragged onto the window, as it now displays the + symbol when a file is dragged on the window, which it didn't before and shows the return code of ‘998’.

I am new to Windows hooks though, so am not 100% sure I am going about this the right way.

It appears that my hook is also working because when I try to catch the HCBT_SYSCOMMAND message, it is displaying the message box, whenever I attempt to maximise etc…

But I can't get it to respond to a WM_DROPFILES message no matter what I try.

This is where my entire source is at present. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

#include <Windows.h>
#include <iostream>

#define fn_export extern "C" __declspec (dllexport)

HHOOK hook_handle = NULL;

LRESULT CALLBACK DragFilesProc(int nCode, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam) {
    if (nCode < HC_ACTION)
        return CallNextHookEx(hook_handle, nCode, wParam, lParam);

// This works as it is catching window resize etc...
    /*
    if (nCode == HCBT_SYSCOMMAND)
    {
        MessageBox(0, L"", L"", 0);
    }
    */

if(wParam == WM_DROPFILES)
    {
        MessageBox(0, L"", L"", 0);
        // Can't get this to fire.
    }

return CallNextHookEx(hook_handle, nCode, wParam, lParam);
}

fn_export double test(HWND hWnd)
{
    // Make the window 'accept files'
    SetWindowLongPtr(hWnd, GWL_EXSTYLE, GetWindowLongA(hWnd, GWL_EXSTYLE) | WS_EX_ACCEPTFILES);
    hook_handle = SetWindowsHookEx(WH_CBT, &DragFilesProc, GetModuleHandle(NULL), GetCurrentThreadId());