🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

VS2008 - Faulting module name: MSVCR90.dll

Started by
6 comments, last by Adam_42 4 years, 6 months ago

Just to note, I am not a programmer by trade. Hobbiest at a stretch.

We are forced to use VS2008 as our code is from early 2000s.
Many users of our application are getting the following error in Event Log.

Faulting module name: MSVCR90.dll, version: 9.0.30729.9619, time stamp: 0x5c4bd872
Exception code: 0xc0000417 
Fault offset: 0x000532cd
Faulting process ID: 0x47d0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d5ba26ae5225eb
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\game\game. exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_microsoft .vc90. crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9. 0. 30729. 9619_none_508d9c7abcbd32b6\MSVCR90. dll
Report ID: 7f76a236-78fd-4c15-adaf-9df03438f5dd
Faulting package full name: 
Faulting package-relative application ID: 

They have "Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)" installed.

I have been unable to replicate it my end. Even with machines without the redistributable, they work,

Any ideas?

Advertisement
Exception code: 0xc0000417 
Fault offset: 0x000532cd

That exception code is probably the error STATUS_INVALID_CRUNTIME_PARAMETER, meaning something in the code called a function with a bad parameter. The board's automatic formatting might mess that up, those are the words "STATUS INVALID CRUNTIME PARAMETER" separated with underscores. You can see more about it from your favorite web search engine.