🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I want to make a game without an engine

Started by
6 comments, last by Alberth 4 years, 6 months ago

Hello!

I have been making small games for a while now (a few years, but just as a hobby on weekends) and I am ready for a big project, finally.

I messed around with unity and unreal and I just don't like it. I like coding things myself, I enjoyed the little time I spent with opengl, writing shaders, understanding how games work behind the scenes. For that reason, I'd like to make my own game from scratch in c++.

I want to say that I don't know where to begin, but that's not quite true. I understand that to make my codebase maintainable and sustainable I need some kind of structure and abstraction. I have in mind a vague idea of how it will work- specifically for my game. I sort of have an idea of what systems, modules, classes I will need.

But when I start a new project, I am just stuck. I don't know what to do, where to begin. What if my structure isn't that good after all? What if I don't actually understand it? These are the questions I want to answer before starting the project.

So I pinpointed exactly some of the things I don't fully understand. I made a prototype of the game in my head and realized some code is missing. And it is mostly about the distinction and separation between "writing a game" and "writing an engine".