🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Rust vs c++. can Rust Change the Future of Game making?

Started by
14 comments, last by hplus0603 4 years, 9 months ago

Hi.

i just hear alot these days about Rust language. it seems that it outperformes c++ and is faster than c++. its managed like c# and java and has not problem of memory allocation and management and has efficient Garbage collection system. there are some news that some studios prefer to start code on Rust and just use c++ for maintenance. like this:335465559_photo_--_--.thumb.jpg.39276e9410b886f6bdedff365e9b73b6.jpg

im just searching to see that is Rust worth learning for game development or not. as good replacement for c++ is there any plan to see gamedev Api,s like graphics API,s on Rust?

Advertisement

I am just a hobby programmer, so what i write is probably not very ripe and sophisticated ?

I spent some time recently checking out Rust and D, very superficially. Rust has this site where they advertise their game ready-ness. I personally had problems with the syntax of Rust, that object.function..subfunction.whereisthis and so on. Also, the philosophy of "you can't count to 8 so i won't let you" wakes the rebel in me. Their learning tutorials spend too much time and space reiterating how it is different from the rest of the languages and that that is good. Actually, i'd like to see how a rust program really runs as fast as a good c program. They are a pretty committed community, so it appears to me.