🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to design balanced unit recruitment cost?

Started by
3 comments, last by Logende 4 years, 10 months ago

Hey guys,

I am Felix (computer science student, 21 years old) and completely new here. I will try to not ask any trivial questions that could be quickly answered via Google, yet if I should behave inappropriately in any way, please let me know.

About the project

I am not a professional game developer, however, I really love designing and creating my own games. In my free time, I am working on a 2d mobile game. I have completed a sidescroller action game many months ago and am now working on a "castle defense game" similar to the games "Age of War" or the mobile games "Legendary Wars" and "Monster Wars". The player and his enemy both own a castle, which they use to build units, which then fight against the units of the opposing player. The goal is to reach the enemy castle and to destroy it. 

Screenshot of old prototype:

cd_1.thumb.png.6bcc64987106234d0fab14c182be7ec2.png

Note: Please don't be too harsh. I know that most of your projects have a higher quality and are more polished than my game and I am fine with that. My goal is not revolutionizing the gaming industry, but creating a simple game that satisfies myself and is fun to play. Me (ideas, programming) and my brother (artwork) have put a lot of passion and time into this project. 

About units and skills

One major thing with which I am struggling since quite some time is balanced unit recruitment cost.

I have already read different articles (like this one) about balancing economies and item cost, yet I still struggle with a few concrete things. Before we get to the problem, I'll describe a few essential aspects of the game (simplified to make it easier to talk about them).