🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

New Here - Game Artist

Started by
3 comments, last by Glyfik 4 years, 10 months ago

Hello, everyone, I'm currently a 3D Artist just looking for some tips on the internet to get my career on track. I'm in the early stages, so far, and I'm hitting that period of doubt where time and effort seem to become more scarce than ever. Regardless, I've landed a small spot with an indie development group we call "Broken Tutorials LLC," a little joke we play on the university course that brought all eight of us together. I've made some decent models. I have a grasp on geometry, topology, UV's, the fundamentals. I haven't delved too deeply into rigging and animation, though, nor have I made any significant models such as a full-fledged character. I've stuck with environmental design, and it's treated me well so far. But, like all disciplines, the best way forward is the one paved with hardship. 

I've never settled down on a specialization. I'm indecisive. However, if I had to choose my top roles to fulfill, they'd be writer, character artist, environment artist, and level designer.

I want to get some insight from any Character Artists who believe they're far enough out of their beginner phases to share ideas that may help people like me reach a point of comfort in this industry. I realize it's been quite unstable, and I just want to be ready before making a leap of faith.

How have your design workflows evolved since the earlier stages of your career? What does your pipeline look like now? What plans do you make to improve them?

What have people liked about your designs? Game studios? What would you think defines a "professional game artist?"