🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What’s your game plan?

Started by
6 comments, last by Tom Sloper 4 years, 11 months ago

As a new developer, I love making games and hope to one day I can make a hobby into a sustainable career. Of course, this has been no easy challenge. For any aspiring full time devs, what’s your game plan to get into the industry? 

Mine is as follows:

-Create a short but fully polished game experience.

-Get it published on a site. (Itch.io, Armorgames. Etc) 

-Rinse repeat a few times

-learn how to network 

-Create a site to showcase my finished games

-Apply to wherever I can with what I have.

Does this list seem too broad? Would it be better to prioritize something else? 

Im curious to know how other people are planning.

Adam Mason Wong

Advertisement

Seems like a decent game plan to me.

My current game plan is to get better at development by doing many projects starting right now with ones I'm not going to be publishing, and slowly stepping things up with each iteration. While also trying to figure out how to build a following. This will probably take me about three more years. My end goal is to be able to build games fairly rapidly (like one mid fairly polished mid-sized game a year). Then to release them as rapidly as possible (which will still be kind of slow), until I can rely on the game profits to quit my full-time job.

There is a lot of "Step 2: ???" in there, but I'm hoping to figure that out as I go.

3 hours ago, SnowFox said:

plan to get into the industry

Moving to the appropriate forum.

"learn how to network" needs to move up to #1.