🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Having a little trouble with my "Invisibility command" please help.

Started by
18 comments, last by Harry Loretz 4 years, 11 months ago

Hey there everyone, I am quite new to C++ and have implemented some code for an invisibility spell/command. What currently happens is I press "1" then the character goes invisible, it activates a timer (InvisibilityStop) timer plays out, then the character reappears on it's own as intended, while another timer(InvisibilityCooldown) is playing so i can't immediately go invisible again. I just want to be able to go Visible whenever i am Invisible but i want there to be a corresponding timer so i can't go invisible right away, i also would like this timer to be the remaining time of the "InvisibilityCooldown". Here is the code. 

void AOmniCharacter::GoInvisible()
{
    if (VisibilityNegate)
    {
        GetInvisibleMesh()->ToggleVisibility();
        ACharacter::GetMesh()->ToggleVisibility();
        VisibilityNegate = false;
        GetWorldTimerManager().SetTimer(InvisibilityHandle, this, &AOmniCharacter::StopInvisibilty, InvisibilityStop, true);
    }
}

void AOmniCharacter::StopInvisibilty()
{
    GetInvisibleMesh()->ToggleVisibility();
    ACharacter::GetMesh()->ToggleVisibility();
    GetWorldTimerManager().SetTimer(InvisibilityHandle, this, &AOmniCharacter::ResetInvisibilitySpell, InvisibilityCooldown, false);
}

void AOmniCharacter::ResetInvisibilitySpell()
{
    VisibilityNegate = true;

Please help, i can't figure this out, I also do not wish to tie this spell into a mana system.

Thankyou.

Advertisement
51 minutes ago, Harry Loretz said: