🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Deciding on going back to school for career change

Started by
6 comments, last by tex-murph 5 years ago

Hi! I'm a video editor and filmmaker who (many years ago) graduated with an undergrad film degree. I'm looking into a career change into the gaming industry, and while I don't want to go back to school to get a masters, I'm currently researching the possibility. I am considering if it will help me more quickly and efficiently move forward to where I want to go.

Over the course of the last year, I have taken shorter term online video game writing classes, and I learned more about the details of what a narrative designer does. Narrative design sounds like my dream job that focuses on what excites me about games - interactive storytelling.  I've also taken an 8 week Unity class that I loved, and since then am building up demos/work samples to put on a new website I made. I'm doing as much networking, creating, and learning as I can to get that first foot in the door.  I know I'm starting over, and am excited about any opportunity to continue learning, whether it be an internship, QA job, or working with other indie developers.