🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to make a hard platformer

Started by
6 comments, last by Jordan Hoffman 5 years ago

I am creating an action platformer, but it’s extremely easy.  Mario easy.  I want to increase the difficulty, but I’m not sure how.  Fake difficulty doesn’t count (few checkpoints, lives, bad physics).

I am an indie game developer who enjoys pixel art games.

Advertisement

That's a design question rather than a programming question, so moving to a more appropriate location.

Mario levels can be extremely difficult.  Go look at youtube videos on what to make (and what not to make) in Mario Maker for plenty of examples.

There are many things that establish "difficulty" in platformer games. 

There are levels where you must memorize a invisible objects, jump to a place that is off screen, or react with extreme precision.  Very few people like those types of difficulty.  A hard level of "search the entire level for a randomly-placed invisible block that holds the key" may be difficult, but probably isn't fun.

Some people enjoy a challenge where you approach and there are many moving parts to navigate.  Not "memorize this complex path" or "perfect twitch-reflexes required" kind of difficulty, but a series of actions that requires some degree of skill.  As a Mario example, two or three hammer bros working together are a good example of this.  Players can do it, but it requires a degree of skill.

Some people enjoy puzzle challenges.  Think less like Mario, more like Legend of Zelda. Don't do it with off-screen trickery, provide all the pieces in a visible form, and if possible provide multiple solutions.

Some people enjoy stealth challenges.  Other people hate them, so if they aren't central to the design they make a good alternate solution to puzzles.