Advertisement

Looking for all skills for my on-going MMORPG project

Started by May 13, 2019 12:01 PM
13 comments, last by NeoBrea 5 years, 3 months ago

Hello :) 

I am a full-time professional developer so the current spare time I have been putting towards this has only been a few hours a week for the past few months. I was determined to put out a 3D MMORPG game, and I wanted to do it on my own. However, the sheer amount of work that goes into creating an MMO means that unless I cut corners (which I do not do), I will be working on this game for about 10 years.

So I am looking for anyone who is willing to contribute to the game in some way. Story, Art, Assets, Mapping, Sound,Design. Chances are if it helps make up an MMO, and you have a skill in that area, then I need your help.

I have the software development covered but if anyone else wants to assist me with some programming I would more than welcome the help, providing you have a somewhat decent understanding of C++ or would be willing to be very studious in learning. Game Development has been my hobby since I learnt to code, but this is the first time I am making anything on this scale, my previous projects have been smaller and non-MMO games that I have been able to develop myself with the help of some assets provided by others. I am looking for other hobbyists in their respective skills who want to be a part of a bigger project, and want to have fun and learn new things whilst doing it.

I am realistic in my goals, the MMO market is very competitive and the odds are that we will never make much money or ever finish the game completely due to the sheer size and amount of content an MMO game needs. That is okay with me, as it is a hobby and I enjoy the process. (I always dream of making it big though!) It would be beneficial for all involved if you kept a similar mindset as well :)