🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Moving tile in match-3 game smoothly or simulating physics effects

Started by
2 comments, last by Alexander Nazarov 5 years, 2 months ago

Hello. I'm pretty new in Unity and I wonder how and what should I use in Unity to create smooth and physics-like tile moving in my match-3 game?

This is example of game, where tile movements are most attractive for me 

Advertisement

I think I commented on your other related thread, so I'll try chipping in here as well.

First, if you haven't already, you might find it useful to watch portions of the video you posted at reduced speed, or step by step (',' and '.' keys on YouTube, as of this writing at least). By doing so I noticed a few things:

- The falling of items is 'staggered', by which I mean that an item falls, and then the item above it starts falling a bit later, rather than all items falling at exactly the same time.

- The items seem to fall with simple acceleration, or close to it.

- When the items reach their new positions, a tight spring effect is applied, starting with a downward motion consistent with the item's previous velocity.

The next part just represents my personal inclinations. Others may recommend a different approach.