🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What should a portfolio for a narrative designer have in it?

Started by
3 comments, last by Tom Sloper 5 years, 6 months ago

Hi there everyone, I hope this is the right forum to post this question in.

So a local games company is recruiting for a narrative designer position, and I'm interested in applying, but I'm not sure what they're looking for in the portfolio. What should the ideal portfolio consist of?

I know that videogame scripts are set out like screenplays, so I figure those are ideal, but would prose also be acceptable? I've never written a screenplay before, and while I think with a week or so over christmas I can fashion together a decent script, I would feel a lot more confident submitting some of my short stories instead. Should I submit my written work, or focus my efforts on making a decent screenplay? If the latter, how big a piece should it be? Any other tips in general?

Thank you for any help you can provide!

(Also, if it helps, I'm happy to provide links to some of my writing to demonstrate my style)

Advertisement

If you're going to try to whip up something over the holiday break, see what you can do with the characters and storylines of that company's top game(s).

Videogame scripts aren't like screenplays exactly. In a screenplay, the actor can read the whole thing and figure out what his/her character's role is. But videogame scripts are often missing a lot of information that would inform an actor. Don't try to write the script for an entire game - just a couple of scenes that could show the depth of your writing.

To answer a question with more questions: the company is local, so where do you live? What degree do you have? What games have you worked on? Have you had any of your writing published, or used in media?