🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to Place Objects on Procedural Generated Terrain

Started by
5 comments, last by trapazza 5 years, 6 months ago

Hello everyone, it's my first time posting on this forum. I'm very excited to meet you.

Anyways, my first question is about procedurally generating a world. I'm seeing how to implement a procedural generated world, and placing objects after that seem to be a big challenge.

Let's say I have a big object that doesn't fit inside a chunk or that it is spawned in the frontier of a chunk. How would you go about generating the whole thing using the nearby chunks? With terrain it's pretty easy because the terrain is not hardcoded, so the algorithm is entirely free. But when I want to place hardcoded objects like castles or trees, I can't just cut the castle in half - or can I?

What's a way to approach this problem?

I'm using LWJGL/OpenGL in Java for a 2D game.

Aspiring programmer!

Advertisement

Find a spot on the planet's surface where you want to place the object.  Then figure out the size of the base of the object you want to place (say a castle) then "sculpt" the surrounding area to support it.  Either raise or lower verticies, or add in more.

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." --Benjamin Franklin

This is a good question and it something I've been thinking about a lot lately for my own project. However I'm working in 3D on spherical world generated on the fly at run time, and I suspect a solution that will work for you will be very different from what I need.