🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I want to learn how to code Tetris :).

Started by
5 comments, last by Anri 5 years, 7 months ago

Hi, i would like to learn how to code Tetris, or, well, at least something that looks like Tetris.

I would like to start my project in C++ Builder ( Embarcadero ). 

As a beginner, i did what i could. I made the windows with everything that passed through my mind: Buttons, images, sound, collect data from player like name, etc etc.

I did my researches and i studied Tetris algorithm but i see no connection on how to apply it in C++ Builder.

Where should i start with the graphics? What should blocks be made of? What should the game "stage" be made of? Some people told me to use a StringGrid and to color the cells, other told me to use a matrix, but i don't really know where and how to start.

I honestly want to create my own classes and work with them. But i don't even know how to create a class in C++ Builder. I know what a class is, i use them in C++ with the console, but i don't understand the concept of C++ Builder and how it works with classes.

There is so much auto generated code and it is so different from what i'm used to ( for 4 years i have only programmed in console, i'm a student, by the way ).

For example, are buttons and labels and etc classes? If yes, where i can see their code to get inspired? How can i create my own class? I'm thinking about making a class for each piece, or a class for all of them, but i think that is better to make a class for each individual piece because they are different, right? 

But first i would really like find out how does classes work in C++ Builder and how to create my own. 

Thank you for your time and i wish you all good !

P.S: Sorry for my bad English.

Hi ! Wish you a good day !

Advertisement