Making Decisions In Text Adventures!

Started by
21 comments, last by JustHusk 5 years, 10 months ago

Hi there,

So i'm an inexperienced student learning games dev at college and im studying c#, in my spare time im trying to work on a text adventure game with a narrative. My issue is that i dont know how to make the decisions, well not simply anyhow.

I could write out 50 variables for each decision to read from the player but that would become very tedious and too messy to even comprehend when im adding content. I was thinking of adding functions to hold each decision or area but im at a lack of knowledge on how to jump to a function or if it's even a good solution. I know i could use an array and each decision be a number but that just doesn't seem like a good solution to me either.

Any advice would be appreciated and this whole topic might sound dumb to a professional so be understanding please haha.

Thanks,

Luke

New Programmer & College Student

JustHusk

Advertisement

I think what you are looking for are called Decision Trees.

Here's a link to some info that looked promising at first glance, in c#:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/3889301/how-to-implement-decision-tree-with-c-sharp-visual-studio-2008-help

You could also use something like a State Machine to do these kinds of things...

https://sachabarbs.wordpress.com/2013/05/16/simple-but-nice-state-machine/

5 minutes ago, Septopus said:

You could also use something like a State Machine to do these kinds of things...

https://sachabarbs.wordpress.com/2013/05/16/simple-but-nice-state-machine/

Thank you for the suggestions!

As i'm still quite inexperienced it's hard to wrap my head around some of the concepts so it'll take some time to tell what'll work for me but both seem like great solutions.

I'll update this after some messing about, thanks again!

JustHusk