🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

physics engine for artificial life simulations

Started by
0 comments, last by chrxh 5 years, 9 months ago

About me:
Hi, my name is Christian and I am an enthusiast for games and simulations in the field of artificial life. I am an applied mathematician and have worked in my past for several years as a researcher on mathematical problems for damage mechanics. Currently I am employed as a software engineer.

Physics engine:
What I want to announce here is a 2D physics engine for damageable and glueable rigid bodys. Temperature effects such as radiation and heat conduction are also simulated via certain particles and internal energy distributions. The building blocks (nodes) of the bodys can be programmed by a simple assembler-like language enriched with physical actions, communication, sensoring and procreation functions. Portions of code is stored in each node as machine code and also potentially subject to changes. The code is processed by tokens moving/forking on a directed graph which constitutes the body. To get an impression of how the engine looks like in practice I attach some screencasts showing different examples. The engine performs multithreaded computations and is encapsulated in a C++-framework. I think it could be used to create realistic effects for space games. I am very interested in your ideas, opinions and constructive criticism.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DG61uprKzWg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2L3Cr2WwHDc

Performance:
With the current implementation one could simulate rougly 50k - 100k building blocks with 30 fps using 8 CPU threads (measured on Core i7-6700). There is still no finished GPU implementation but after experimenting with CUDA I would estimate that 300k can be simulated