🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Artist - What is my next step?

Started by
3 comments, last by frob 5 years, 12 months ago

Hi GameDev community!

I don't know what to do next to work as a video game artist.

Education:
Advanced drawing, figure drawing, oil painting, traditional animation, java and visual basic college classes. No degree.

Self or tutorial taught skills:
2D digital art and animation (would prefer to learn how this is normally made for and used in games), currently learning C# and Unity

I am happy with my level of traditional art skill. My 2D digital art and animation skills are there, but I'm kind of self taught and I bet there are many things I can learn to improve. I have not even tried 3D art yet. I'm curious about it, but not sure if it will be useful to know both 2D and 3D. I enjoy programming and learning to use Unity, but again I'm not sure if these are things that will be useful as an artist.

What is my next step? Are there alternatives to formal education that will still teach me what I need to know? And most importantly, is there a path I can set for myself to work towards my goal of working as a video game artist?

Advertisement

Most important would be work experience. If you can't find a job, then do some freelance work.

29 minutes ago, sleepypixie said:

No degree.

Getting a degree would be a good idea. Or focusing some time to make a outstanding portfolio.

31 minutes ago, sleepypixie said:

I have not even tried 3D art yet. I'm curious about it, but not sure if it will be useful to know both 2D and 3D.

All art forms build on top of each other. Learning one will improve your other art forms. It's a good idea to learn 3D and most concept artist I know and have worked with use 3D to make bases; instead of guidelines.

You can't go wrong by learning 3D art.