🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Which of these 2 Colleges/Degrees

Started by
4 comments, last by Tom Sloper 6 years, 1 month ago

I am a senior in high school and college selection day is just over a week away. I aim to develop games for a living, and I am between two choices: Northeastern University, where I would major in Computer Science/Game Development, and University of Michigan, where I would simply major in Computer Science. Northeastern has a lot of game specific courses that would tech skills specific to games and also develop my portfolio more. I think I would enjoy this more as well. Michigan, on the other hand, has a higher ranked Comp Sci program as well as being a higher ranked school overall, and it has a huge alumni base. Which of these two choices do you think would gear me better for a future in the games industry?

Advertisement

I would probably favour the normal Computer Science course at a more respectable university; especially if you are able to leverage that larger alumni base to your future advantage.

Although some game specific courses can be very good, some of them are (or have been) very bad (I don't know anything about the specific one you're considering) and so they can sometimes have a poor reputation compared to more traditional degrees.

A traditional degree also puts you in better standing for getting non-games jobs if you need to do so while looking for a games job, or if you discover that professional game development isn't for you.