🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Which grad school should I look at?

Started by
3 comments, last by Tom Sloper 6 years, 3 months ago

I'm new here, so I apologize If this isn't the right place to post this. I'm an overseas student from Africa and will be going to the U.K (on a student visa) at mid-September of this year to start my 4 year course In CS (It's a bachelors, but 4 years because the third year involves me working at a company If I can manage to get a placement.). For personal reasons, I'd rather start my career in gamedev in the U.S rather than any other location. From what I understand, going to a good grad school for a masters in gamedev in the U.S is the best and shortest way for me to increase the chances of getting a job there. So although I know that a masters In gamedev isn't needed and I perfectly understand why people would advise against getting one, given my current situation and understanding of how to get into the video game making industry (In the U.S), going to a grad school In America is the most efficient way to increase the chances of me getting a job at a game studio in the U.S (Though If you do know otherwise, I'll appreciate the advice).