🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What do you look for in a hobby concept art request?

Started by
6 comments, last by Scouting Ninja 6 years, 3 months ago

Hi all,

I hope it's okay to ask this here. As a developer I occasionally get hit up for free work, and I gather that it's very common for artists. I would imagine that it leaves a bad taste in the mouth, especially if you're a professional.

If someone does want concept art done for free for a hobby project or speculatively based on rev share, what factors would influence your decision to do the work and feel respected in the process? Is the nature of the work much of a factor, e.g. creative freedom, a subject that you like, an intriguing concept?

Are there any things they can provide which you'd consider a plus, e.g. trade in kind, payment up front if it goes commercial, etc?

Thanks in advance for any replies, even if I end up losing an arm. ;)

JT

Advertisement

If you are doing something as, let's say, part of your day job, I'd say you have to charge and work accordingly, even more so if you are just providing some product (concept art in this case).

On the other hand, if you are doing it as a hobby, then there should be some motivation for doing something potentially without any monetary gain. I'd say creative freedom is the least that can be offered (at least within some broad constraints). 

Mixing the two (even worse, without both parts agreeing) sounds like it's bound not to work well...

8 hours ago, jefferytitan said:

If someone does want concept art done for free for a hobby project or speculatively based on rev share, what factors would influence your decision to do the work and feel respected in the process? Is the nature of the work much of a factor, e.g. creative freedom, a subject that you like, an intriguing concept?