🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Change career path to GameDev

Started by
3 comments, last by Katie 6 years, 4 months ago

Hello,

I have 3 years experience in mobile software dev. I always wanted to work in GameDev and make games but unfortunately I had not so many opportunities to do it. During my computer science studies I learned basics needed to work as software developer. After my graduation I get job easily as a iOS developer. It is good job, well paid, but it is not what I always wanted to do. I feel that I'm missing something, wasting my life for inapropriate things. Now my life is more stable, I have money to live and I want to try start making games for real. 

I heard gamedev is hard and not paid good. Is it true that you have to work much more than in software dev? Is it true that people accept to earn less and work more because they love to do it so much? And they usually have to stay late in work?

How much time I need to learn to work as junior PC game developer? Should I quit my job to follow dreams? Or It is to much risk?

I recently released a small game for iOS as a warm-up. I don't think I want to make mobile games. They looks so limited with gameplay and controlling. I read that mobile game market is saturated and it is very hard to live from it.

Please, give me some advices :)

Thanks!

Advertisement

Hi there!

The best thing you can do is to look for an open position near your area, given that there are some game companies around, get yourself invited for an interview, ask them all kinds of questions (about working hours, crunches, etc.) and decide if you really want to take it :) Also, how's your C++?