🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Game design career interview questions

Started by
23 comments, last by BlackMagicWolf 6 years, 4 months ago

Hello, I'm an aspiring game designer and doing a research paper on being a game designer for high school. Part of doing this project is getting an interview from an active game designer. I was hoping someone could help me with this, If you're interested in helping me that would be great! I just need you to answer these 5 questions.

What experience might you need for this job? 

What experience might you get from this job?   

What are the Hours like for this Career?

Is there anything extra that you would recommend to learn in order to get better at this job or something to learn before going to college? 

Is there anything you know now that you wish you knew when starting out?

If anyone could help that would be fantastic :D
Advertisement
What experience might you need for this job? 
That depends entirely on what your employer is looking for. Generally speaking, you should have prior experience designing games. Almost nobody hires someone to be a designer who has zero experience with design. 

What experience might you get from this job?   
Well, I would hope that by working as a designer, you get better at your profession.

What are the Hours like for this Career?
This depends a lot on who you work for. I would expect a minimum of 40 hours/week, and maybe an average of around 50-60 hours/week.

Is there anything extra that you would recommend to learn in order to get better at this job or something to learn before going to college?