🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

3D game, but drawn like a 2D game

Started by
6 comments, last by rlyeh 6 years, 4 months ago

I'm designing this game for the past three months, and it was meant to be 2D as I don't think it would look well with modelling, especially made by an amateur. I know how to draw with a tablet well enough, so I figured I'd do something like the art-style of games like Hollow Knight by Team Cherry and Castle Crashers, art by Dan Paladin. I have almost four years of experience with a Tablet.

However, the game that I really want to make would work much better in a 3D environment, and the more I figure out the design phase, the more I think 3D would be perfect.

Here's the question: Is there a way to make a 3D game that has all of its assets drawn instead of modelled? Like, something that looks like the game Borderlands, for example.

Let's say I actually go through the 3D modelling phase to make a character, but then I slap my drawing in the surface of that model for it to look 2D while being a 3D with X Y and Z. Makes sense? As if Minecraft was made with a bunch of cubic models and then someone slapped pixel art in the cube's surfaces...

Do you guys know any game dev who achieved something like that?

Any comments are welcome, thank you.

Advertisement

"Elysian Shadows" ( http://www.elysianshadows.com ) has/does. Its been quiet for some time, now that I mentioned it.

"The Last Night" - http://oddtales.net/

I don't know if this is the 2d/3d thing you were going for. It is similar to the Elysian Shadows game posted up above. You would essentially take your sprites and just render them in a 3d environment. You'd have to just make sure to line up your camera against the flat sprites to create a 2d/3d effect.