🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I am a newbie. Please help me.

Started by
6 comments, last by mx1 22 years, 6 months ago
I just recently got Borlands free demo edition of C++. I have been playing around with it for a couple days and reading a few tutorials. I can''t seem to figure out exactly how to compile. I write something, then click compile and it does compile but it doesn''t generate an executable file. I am very new to all this with no prior experience. I read somewhere that you have to do it with the command line or something,but im not sure how. Can someone please tell me exactly how to do this?
Advertisement
Well, I have Microsoft Visual C++, but in that, clicking on compile JUST compiles, it doesn''t run the program. To run, you click on some button that says "run" or something.
You need to look for something labelled "Build." "Compile" usually just compiles the current file (useful way to check for errors in the current module); "Build" compiles any modified sources in the project and links them together to yield the output file (be that executable, static/dynamic library, etc); "Run" launches the executable from within the development environment.

Look for your compiler''s documentation. That''s what it''s there for.
A compiler compiles the code from source to objective code and a linker takes the objective code and turns it into an executable.

IF you are using Borland's free command line compiler(v5.5), then you need to set up the paths for the includes and .lib files before attempting to compile your code.

i think the compiler was bcc? and the linker was tlink??
I'm rusty and have not been coding for a few months.

if you are pulling your hair out, then try a different C++ compiler, such as www.bloodshed.net (DevC). Don't worry.. it's free.