🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Feedback on Personal Website/Portfolio

Started by
1 comment, last by swiftcoder 6 years, 7 months ago

Hello, this is my first post so I'm very sorry if this is the wrong location for this type of topic. I didn't immediately see any sort of general thread for this type of thing but I admit I might be blind.

I'd greatly appreciate any feedback that anyone could provide regarding my personal website/portfolio. It's self-made, which I recognize is kind of a risk, so I want to make sure it's up to a professional standard. In particular, have a few things I'm concerned about:

1. How is the usability/presentation of this site? Is it well organized? Would I be better off using a template from somewhere else?
  2. Is it a mistake to show my writing? I have a degree as a writer, and I'd love to be able to find a career writing for and designing games. Writing I feel is my strength, and I have far more completed projects as a writer. That being said, I'm worried that showcasing my writing too much (or even showcasing it at all) might give off too much of an "idea guy" vibe.
  3. Should I remove my "about" section? Is it better to just let everything speak for itself?
  4. Should I show WIP projects, or unfinished projects? I know generally that's a poor idea, but obviously I'm lacking heavily in my design experience (I wasn't a Game Design major, or even in any computer field, so a lot of my project are pretty unfinished, and a lot of the stuff I did finished has been lost due to various hard drive crashes and reformats over the years. I was a lot less diligent about saving data in high school/early college.)
  5. What (aside from more projects which, obviously, I'm working on completing) is missing that should be present?