🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Advice before getting into game development industry?

Started by
3 comments, last by GeneralJist 6 years, 7 months ago

Hello game developers around the world,

I'm new to gaming industry (in making game, of course), can you help me getting started. What do I need to learn (the basics) fundamentals before getting into game development industry, even the ones that sound too basic to be included. If you have viewed my earlier post (what game engine should a beginner try first?), you probably think "why is this idiot haven't move on from basic questions", but I just want to take a step back, trying to know all the fundamentals lessons I might miss. I think knowing game engine is good and deciding which one to try first is a good start for beginners but I want to know some fundamentals lessons that can be learn before even using a game engine or even making a game.

One more question, which computer language that is very suitable for making games in general or to broaden things up, what are all the computer languages that most game developers use for making their games? 

Thank you

I'm a student who is starting to learn into game development industry , please be patient with me if I ask you anything anything

Advertisement
3 hours ago, TobyTheRandom said:

What do I need to learn (the basics) fundamentals before getting into game development industry

That depends on what kind of game job you want to get. I wrote an article about what you need to learn: http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson34.htm

3 hours ago, TobyTheRandom said:

which computer language that is very suitable

Are you saying that you want to be a programmer? Not a game designer or producer or artist, or to work in audio or testing?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

4 hours ago, TobyTheRandom said: