🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Game marketing and PR

Started by
4 comments, last by TilenM 6 years, 10 months ago

Hi! My name is Tilen and I am new here, but I appreciate any help you can offer to a newbie! ^^

I'm in a team of 20 men and women from all over the world and I am responsible for marketing the game we are making. We are developing a 2D action platformer that is pretty unique imo (I Will reveal more info in the coming posts). I have lots of experience in regular experience marketing and PR, but online marketing is relatively new to me. I already have a basic plan for everything I want to do, but my main questions are: how and when do I start marketing? I have zero funds to work with. I am thinking to start with some simple posts on gaming forums, showing some screenshots, some news about the developement etc. and then start sharing our webpage (which we are already building), Fb, Ig, Twitter, Linkedin etc. I am also planning on writing a devblog on our main page and spread it across all the sites that allow bloggers to post for free. Am I thinking in the right direction? When do I start marketing and on what social media? Can I use Facebook even if I can't guarantee regular posts (because all of the devs are also working for free in their spare time and I really can't tell how fast the progress is going to be)? I've been doing some research on some bigger indie 2D platformers, but I still can't really tell what the best strategy is. What's your opinion?

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

Moving to Business forum.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Have you read Pixel Prospector's Marketing Guide for Game Developers?

Yes, you can use Facebook even if you don't have guaranteed regular content, but obviously it may be less effective.