🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

super newbie question

Started by
11 comments, last by bleachblood 22 years, 7 months ago
I just had a few questions 1. Is it crucial to learn C before jumping into C++ ? 2. I was also wondering I one wanted to get a job as a programmer, is it important to go to school for it, ir is being self taught the better rout? hoping I don''t get flammed Cheers
The only time the world beats a path on my door, I happen to be in the bathroom.
Advertisement
1) no, it''s not crucial.
2) It''s great to get a headstart by teaching yourself programming but I would still recommend going to college to get a degree.
It is not important to learn C before C++, very few people do it that way anymore. I used to think that a degree wasn''t very important, but it seems like most companies require a degree to get an interview. Also there is allot that you learn in college by haveing teachers constantly review your work, and giving you ideas on different ways of doing things.
1) *Dons asbestos suit* That''s a question of religion. Some will say yes, some will say no, and neither will listen to the other party''s arguments. C++ is a superset of C, so you can easily learn to use both together. I mostly use C++ as an extension to C, because I don''t see OOP as the panacea some pretend it is.

2) Jobs are easier to get when you have a degree, and there is much more to Computer Science than just programming. You are unlikely to pick up stuff like theory of computation, operational research or algorithm design on your own. You cannot however ''just'' go through school and dub yourself a programmer if you don''t do some learning of your own on the side, and like it.