🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Any advice on a new programmer's Portfolio and CV?

Started by
9 comments, last by Bombshell93 7 years, 3 months ago

HI, My name is Scott R Howell, I am a programmer / game designer just entering the industry.

I've not been on this site in 3 years, but the community was a great help during my stupid years learning programming and the technical side of game development.
In my time missing I've been putting myself through a Game Design Degree of which I'm approaching my final year, over the course of this I've become convinced I am a capable programmer, trading conversation with some of the universities tutors and while networking at development events.

ORIGINAL:

Despite this I've not finished enough projects to build a convincing portfolio and I've not had experience writing a CV for a specialized job, so I thought I'd get advice wherever I could.

my CV as it currently stands can be seen here

my portfolio so far is slim, but as mentioned in my CV I am writing a javascript based game development framework (intended for portability and rapid prototyping),
so far it has been from scratch, it is multi-threaded and written in the interest of being somewhat modular, the logic thread and asset management thread being extendable and the renderer itself being a separated portion of the project.

Sample Demo (spinning box)

http://bombshell93.co.uk/games/sample.php

Documentation (JSDoc)

http://bombshell93.co.uk/js/out/

I know the portfolio isn't much, but that's why I'm here, is there any advice you'd give to a programmer on his first job search? would you turn away my CV for any reasons? what projects would you expect in a portfolio for a programmer with an interest in graphics programming and engine programming?

EDIT: