🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

New job in games is killing my passion

Started by
14 comments, last by DerekL 7 years, 2 months ago

Hello all,

When I was in uni I was all about studying to get into the industry. I'd work on projects all the time. I'd put in long days and enjoy it.
It paid off, I got two offers from AAA game studios when I graduated.

I accepted one and have been working there for about five months.
Needless to say, it feels like it's killing my passion.
The work isn't creative. It feels like I'm just another slave building a pyramid.
It's not about creativity it's about finding the right api.
I get little guidance and have even felt like I'm getting set up to fail, not succeed.

I used to study to be the best I could. But after working for 5 months it seems there is little payoff for working that hard to be the best. I've come to believe it's foolish. People don't care and you won't be rewarded.

It does make me sad to say these things. I've worked hard to get into games.

IDK I guess I'm here for advice and guidance and a little venting.

Once again I used to be very passionate about computer science and creating games I was dedicating my life to it... now... well, to be honest I want to cry. I feel terrible (work was bad today, no guidance I'm lost, when I ask for help it's not very helpful, and to be honest I don't think my seniors care)

Thoughts? Advice?
All sentiments welcome, brutality, compassion, hard truths... Anything goes.

Advertisement
It sounds like there are two main problems:

The work isn't creative. It feels like I'm just another slave building a pyramid.
It's not about creativity it's about finding the right api.

What are you working on, and what do you want to be working on?

Creativity in games comes in a range: