🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

This is my passion and I have barely started. Is it possible?

Started by
8 comments, last by Nypyren 7 years, 3 months ago

Hi. This is my first post here. It's been a few years coming. I've been toying with making my own video games for a couple of years.

You see, I'm an accountant. I work a full-time job. Usually, I come home at night and play video games. I have been for years.

It was a few years ago, after playing failed early release after failed early release, that I realized I would like to take a shot at game development.

It's not about the money... I mean, it'd be great to be wealthy. But, man... it's about the passion for great games.. and the heartbreak from could've been great games that drives me to do this.

I've barely began programming. I've barely began working with Unity (I rolled a few balls around the grid). And, it clicks. Logic. I love it.

My question... I'm 38. I have a career. No family. My passion for gaming is unparalleled (It's pretty much been my life outside of work). My drive is intense when I finally know I want something.

You guys/girls reading this know... should I do this? is it worth it?

Advertisement

Moving to the career section of the site. Look to the sidebar on your right for the FAQs: --->

No, you are not too late. Lots of details in the FAQ links on your right.

Just be mindful that playing games is different from making games, like cooking a meal and eating a meal are different, or hearing a concert and performing a concert are different, or watching a performance and working as an actor are different.

If you really are passionate about making great software instead of using great software, then it can be a great career path.

Wow.. .the FAQ's are where it's at. Thanks, frob.