🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Does my art match Concept Art for Games

Started by
4 comments, last by sunandshadow 7 years, 3 months ago

Hi,

My name is Klaudia Bezak. I am an ambitious artist, illustrator and concept artist. . I have painted many pictures for private clients, illustrated books, created posters and characters designs, pages for comic books, have my works published in magazines etc., but my real dream is to create concept art for games. I've been sending my CV to games companies for a few days, but to be honest, I'm not sure if the art I create right now is something that games companies could look for. Could you tell me if I should start painting and drawing digitally to be considered for a concept artist position?

[attachment=35198:1.jpg][attachment=35199:25.jpg]

[attachment=35200:13.jpg][attachment=35201:27.jpg]

[attachment=35203:15.jpg][attachment=35202:644.jpg]

[attachment=35204:26.jpg][attachment=35205:3.jpg]

[attachment=35206:17.jpg][attachment=35207:28.jpg]

Advertisement

The only thing that strikes me as a problem here is that the use of gray for shading is screwing up your color palette, so they don't really pop, and in some cases look a little ill. The clearest example is the woman with the mechanical leg - those gray shadows on her skin really don't look good. The shapes of everything look good.

I want to help design a "sandpark" MMO. Optional interactive story with quests and deeply characterized NPCs, plus sandbox elements like player-craftable housing and lots of other crafting. If you are starting a design of this type, please PM me. I also love pet-breeding games.