🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

NVIDIA's Linux Driver legalities

Started by
6 comments, last by Bregma 7 years, 5 months ago

I had a brief discussion the other day about the legalities of the NVIDIA Linux driver, and none of us came to a concrete conclusion. Since I'm not a lawyer (and currently don't even have a dollar in my name to even afford a lawyer for the most part) I won't make the assumption here.

The question is this. Let's say I/we are building a customized Linux distribution based off of LFS or something, and this Linux distro's purpose were to be used for an embedded platform, such as an arcade cabinet. Would it be illegal to sell such an arcade cabinet if it has the official NVIDIA driver installed? The OS or the driver itself is not going to be sold or anything, but it since it's intending to make money, it seems like there'd be some legality issues. My initial thought was that it may be similar as someone selling their old PC that happened to have an NVIDIA card installed as well as the latest forceware, but then the reality that an arcade cabinet is a platform that is patented, licensed and sold for profit by a vendor, so that likely would be an issue.

http://www.nvidia.com/content/DriverDownload-March2009/licence.php?lang=us <- this is the license.